In My Book Basket

Here are some of the books in my bedside book basket. Some are new to me. Others I am reading again because I loved them so much. (One I have read several times in the past 20 years!) Enjoy!

Wretched Saints: Transformed by the Relentless Grace of God by Noel Jesse Heikkinen

This book is by my friend, (and one of the pastor’s at my home church!) Noel Heikkinen. If you have ever struggled to navigate the tension between knowing you are a believer, but yet still struggling with sin, this book is for you. On the flip side, if now that you are a follower of Jesus, you wrongly think you don’t ever sin, this book is also for you.

“The truth of the gospel of Jesus,” Heikkinen writes, “is that I am nothing more than a wretch and so much more than a saint.” Have you ever wondered if God could really save you? Have you ever thought grace might not be enough? In Wretched Saints, Pastor Noel reveals the rough and beautiful side of grace so clearly that readers face up to the scars of sin—and have a renewed, startling realization that God’s incredible gospel is true. Click here to purchase==> Wretched Saints: Transformed by the Relentless Grace of God by Noel Heikkinen

Don’t Miss Out: Daring to Believe Life Is Better with the Holy Spirit by Jeannie Cunnion

This next one, written by my friend and fabulous author Jeannie Cunnion, asks, “Have I settled for less than everything God has for me?”

As a lifelong follower of Jesus, Jeannie wrestled with this question and was surprised to realize that she’d been missing out on living in the power of the Holy Spirit! Discovering the significance of the Spirit’s work in her life lit a fire in Jeannie’s soul–and became the message she tucked into these pages for you.  Click here to purchase ==> Don’t Miss Out: Daring to Believe Life Is Better with the Holy Spirit by Jeannie Cunnion

The Absurdity, Necessity, and Neurology of Contemplative Prayer by AJ Sherrill

I am knee deep in this one right now and have a hard time putting it down because it is that good!

According to pastor and author AJ Sherrill, being with God is what empowers doing for God. He shares his own journey from “busy” Christianity to the ancient paths of contemplative practices. He equips readers to integrate rhythms of stillness, silence, and solitude, offering step-by-step guidance and examples of finding solitude both personally and on retreats. Click here to purchase ==>The Absurdity, Necessity, and Neurology of Contemplative Prayer by AJ Sherrill

Made for More: An Invitation to Live in God’s Image by Hannah Anderson

I read this last summer and pulled it out again this spring for a refresh because I loved Hannah’s writing so much! She makes you feel as if a friend is simply sharing her heart with you over a cup of tea. Motivating and practical.

Starting with our first identity as image-bearers, Hannah shows how Jesus Christ makes us people who can reflect His nature through our unique callings. She also explores how these deeper truths affect the practical realities that we face as women—how does being an image-bearer shape our pursuit of education, our work, and even our desire for holistic lives? Click here to purchase ==> Made for More: An Invitation to Live in God’s Image by Hannah Anderson

The Orphan Collector: A Heroic Novel of Survival During the 1918 Influenza Pandemic by Ellen Marie Wiseman

This one is not pictured in the stack at the top of this post because I borrowed it from the library. In January 2021, I began the habit of checking out one fiction book per month from the library. Up until then, I was reading about one every 5 to 10 years. I’m such a practical gal but I thought that fiction wasn’t helping me grow or learn anything new. Boy, was I wrong! This one is a recent read that I thoroughly enjoyed. Having just lived through a pandemic, you will find this one set in the pandemic of 1918 very interesting.

From internationally bestselling author Ellen Marie Wiseman comes a gripping and powerful tale of upheaval—a heartbreaking saga of resilience and hope perfect for fans of Beatriz Williams and Kristin Hannah—set in Philadelphia during the 1918 Spanish Flu outbreak—the deadly pandemic that went on to infect one-third of the world’s population. You’ll find yourself cheering for certain characters and being so angry at others. CLlck here to purchase ==> The Orphan Collector: A Heroic Novel of Survival During the 1918 Influenza Pandemic by Ellen Marie Wiseman

The Dignity Revolution: Reclaiming God’s Rich Vision for Humanity by Daniel Darling

I spoke at an event in 2019 with author Daniel Darling. I had been following him on social media before then and was always so encouraged by his smart thinking and his vision for inclusion in the body of Christ. This book is not only informative, it is inspiring!

As Christians, we want to make a difference in this world. We want to have an impact not only on our immediate family and community, but on wider social issues. We want to protect the vulnerable and engage with the issues that really matter. But how? This book shows us how wonderful, liberating and empowering it is to be made in God’s image and how this changes how we see ourselves and all other humans, and how we treat them and advocate for them. Each one of us can be, and are called to be, part of this new movement – a human dignity revolution that our societies need, and that we are uniquely placed as Christians to join. This compelling book shows you how to join the dignity revolution. Click here to purchase ==> The Dignity Revolution: Reclaiming God’s Rich Vision for Humanity by Daniel Darling

Growing Slow: Lessons on Un-Hurrying Your Heart from an Accidental Farm Girl by Jennifer Dukes Lee

This one is not only a helpful resource, it is written by my editor and friend Jennifer Dukes Lee. SHe lives the message of this book so well–embracing a simpler way of living by unhurrying your heart, embracing the relaxed rhythms of nature, and discovering the meaningful gift of growing slow. 

We long to make a break from the fast pace of life, but if we’re honest, we’re afraid of what we’ll miss if we do. Yet when going big and hustling hard leaves us stressed, empty, and out of sorts, perhaps this can be our cue to step into a far more satisfying, sustainable pace. In this crafted, inspiring read, Jennifer offers a path to unhurried living by returning to the rhythm of the land and learning the ancient art of Growing Slow. 

Jennifer was once at breaking point herself, and tells her story of rude awakening to the ways her chosen lifestyle of running hard, scaling fast, and the never-ending chase for results was taking a toll on her body, heart, and soul. But when she finally gave herself permission to believe it takes time to grow good things, she found a new kind of freedom. With eloquent truths and vivid storytelling, Jennifer reflects on the lessons she learned from living on her fifth-generation family farm and the insights she gathered from the purposeful yet never rushed life of Christ.  Click here to purchase ==>Growing Slow: Lessons on Un-Hurrying Your Heart from an Accidental Farm Girl

Honey for a Child’s Heart Updated and Expanded: The Imaginative Use of Books in Family Life by Gladys Hunt

I used this book ALL THE TIME when my children were younger before we would venture off to our weekly library trips. It really helped me to be able to choose good books they would love but that were also appropriate for their age group.

A modern classic with over 250,000 copies sold, Honey for a Child’s Heart by Gladys Hunt is a compelling, essential guide for parents who want to find the best books for their children ages 0-12. This updated and expanded edition includes a new preface, an updated list of recommended reads for each age group, and audiobook suggestions. CLick here to purchase ==> Honey for a Child’s Heart Updated and Expanded: The Imaginative Use of Books in Family Life by Gladys Hunt

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.